18th International Conference on Business Management
( ICBM 2021 )

Crisis has become an integral part of everything on the planet while its impacts are mostly felt by organizations and thereby affecting economic and social behaviours. The recent crisis, COVID-19 pandemic has reemphasized this phenomenon by simultaneously affecting many individuals and organizations around the world. All public policy domains, and organizational as well as customer behaviours are changing rapidly in response to the pandemic. Accordingly, business managers and policy makers need to decide on the best way to lead and manage the operations during a crisis of this nature.

On this backdrop, the Faculty of Management Studies and Commerce (FMSC), University of Sri Jayewardenepura (USJ),Sri Lanka has decided to conduct its 18th International Conference on Business Management (ICBM) on the theme of “Managing in Crisis: Brace for Challenges Ahead to Ensure Sustainable Growth”.. The FMSC, as the Centre of Excellence in Management education in Sri Lanka, earnestly believe that it is of prime importance to revisit the initial strategies adopted and/or adapted at the organizational level immediately after a crisis strikes. Furthermore, it should be done irrespective of the positive or negative outcomes borne by these strategies within the “new normal” which requires novel processes, strategies, and culture to manage. Hence, the ICBM 2021 aims to bring together scholars and practitioners around the world to exchange and share their experiences and research findings on all aspects of managing in crisis.

Objectives of ICBM 2021

  1. Creating an avenue where scholars and practitioners could share their research findings and experience on the proposed theme.
  2. Uncovering potential future research projects on a wider scope regarding managing in crisis.
  3. Strengthening collaboration among scholars, practitioners, and other stakeholders for feasible joint-projects, funding, and for identifying publication avenues.

Academic Partner

Partner Publishers

Session Schedule

Click here for Text Mode

Conference Tracks

  • Accounting for Sustainability in Disruption
  • Business Law and Regulatory System
  • Business Strategies in Crises
  • Disaster and Crisis Management
  • Economics, Public Policy and Development
  • Education Management, Hybrid Learning and E- Learning
  • Entrepreneurship, Small Business Management and Innovation
  • Finance Innovation and Sustainable Strategies
  • Global Business Management
  • Human Resources Management and Labour Relations
  • Information Systems and Digital Transformation
  • Knowledge Management and Learning Organizations
  • Leading and Managing People in Organizations  
  • Marketing, Tourism and Hospitality Management
  • Operations and Technology Management
  • Real Estate Management and Valuation
  • Sustainability, Governance, Ethics and Corporate Social Responsibility

Important Dates

Aug 2021
Last date for submission of Full Papers
Oct 2021
Confirmation regarding acceptance of Full Paper
Oct 2021
Camera ready copy of Full papers
Oct 2021
Early Bird Registration
Nov 2021
Final Registration

Conference Venue

Main Conference

Date : 9th December 2021

Venue : University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Nugegoda, Sri Lanka.

Phd Colloquium and Business Forum

Date : 10th December 2021

Venue : University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Nugegoda, Sri Lanka.

ICBM 2021 Team


Dr. Rukmal Weerasinghe
Email: rukmal@sjp.ac.lk
Mobile: +94 71 8130843

Dr. Seshika Kariyapperuma
Email: seshika@sjp.ac.lk
Mobile: +94 77 4921545

Conference Secretary

Ms. W. R. M. Shehani Shanika
Email: shehaniwije@sjp.ac.lk
Mobile: +94 71 4294694

Team Members

  • Prof. P. Janak Kumarasinghe
  • Prof. (Mrs.) P. D. Hemamalie D. Gunathilake
  • Prof. M. D. Pushpakumari
  • Dr. Udayanganie K. Thalgaspitiya
  • Dr. T. C. M. G. S. S. Cooray
  • Dr. Ajantha Sisira Kumara
  • Mr. P. H. A. B. Shantha
  • Mr. R. H. G. W. Pradeep Kumara
  • Ms. H. K. Harini Amarasinghe
  • Ms. J. Ishari Madhukala
  • Ms. P. Vishwara N. Perera
  • Ms. U. Gayani Kaushalya
  • Mr. K. A. D. Ishara Sudeeptha
  • Ms. V. G. Pavani Lakshika
  • Ms. D. M. Sachinthanee Dissanayake
  • Ms. E. Sanduni I. Senarathne
  • Ms. Dasuni N. Pandithasekera
  • Ms W. Yasheema Kumudini
  • Mr M. M. Lasika M. Munasignhe
  • Ms. R. M. K. Samudrika Rasanjalee
  • Mr. Ruwanga Wijesooriya
  • Ms. R. Buddhinie M. J. Ranasinghe
  • Ms. Naduni Gunawardane
  • Ms. H. H. D. Pooja J. Opatha
  • Mr. Dhanuka Perera
  • Mr. Chamika Udesh
  • Ms. M. G. H. Madusha
  • Ms. P. N. Sandamini
  • Ms. K. I. Uresha
  • Ms. L. Wanshika Kappettiarachchige
  • Mr. K. A. D. S. Madhawa Kalugampitiya